Surgical removal of a women’s uterus is known as hysterectomy. Hysterectomy is done for a wide range of diseases, conditions and abnormalities in the pelvic region. Reasons for doing hysterectomy are,

  • Uterine fibroids
  • Uterine prolapse
  • Cancer affecting the uterus, cervix, or ovaries
  • Endometriosis
  • Abnormal vaginal bleeding
  • Chronic pelvic pain
  • Adenomyosis (thickened uterus)

For conditions that are benign (noncancerous),hysterectomy is considered as the last option when all other methods of treatment have failed.

Types of Hysterectomy
  • Hysterectomy can be either partial or complete, and it also can be in combination with removal of cervix, ovaries and fallopian tubes.
  • TAHBSO: This procedure involves surgical removal of uterus and cervix along with both the ovaries and fallopian tubes through an abdominal incision (total abdominal hysterectomy with bilateral salpingo-oophorectomy).
  • Radical Hysterectomy: This procedure involves surgical removal of uterus and its ligaments, cervix, and the upper portion of the vagina.
  • Laparoscopically assisted vaginal hysterectomy (LAVH): In this procedure, the uterus is removed along with fallopian tubes and ovaries through the vagina with the assistance of laparoscope to guide the movements.
  • Laparoscopic supracervical hysterectomy (LSH): This is a partial hysterectomy procedure where in only the diseased part of the uterus is removed preserving the cervix.